A Disclaimer

Hello! I would like to preface this blog by explaining how I plan to proceed with future posts. Since I’m getting a bit of a late start, I hope to write multiple posts in a short span of time, which will include my observations, highlights, and low points of my pre-travel experience. When I finish commenting on those two weeks, I will dive into my adventures in Rome and Athens!

I’m going to give you brief explanation of the logistics of my trip (where I went and when) so  this blog is a bit easier to follow. For those of you that don’t know, the program I am participating in is the Roman-Greco program, operated by the College of Saint Benedict and Saint John’s University. Essentially, this means that I am going to spend about 6.5 weeks in Rome, Italy, and another 6.5 weeks in Athens, Greece. This equates to one full semester abroad. I am studying art history, the history of the Western and Eastern Church, Italian and Greek literature, and the Italian and Greek languages. This program and these courses compliment and enhance my English major and Communications minor.

The beginning of this blog will focus on my pre-travel experience. I left for my semester abroad 15 days before I needed to be in Rome with a group consisting of 5 other girls. Together we chose to pre-travel, knowing that it would be easier (and cheaper) to visit as much of Europe as possible in one big sitting. I left the U.S. on Monday, August 12th and spent three days in Dublin, Ireland. From there, I went to London, England for four days. The next stop was to Paris, France, where I spent another three days. We passed the final four days of our pre-travel in Barcelona, Spain, before we flew to Rome on Tuesday, August 27th.

Just a warning: In this blog, I am NOT going to be focusing on perfecting my writing. For that reason, I apologize for my potential grammar slippages! Also, I tend to ramble, which I regret. I’ll do my best to keep it short, but I know I’ll end up writing much more than is necessary. You don’t have to read all of it – I will most likely bore the socks off of you 🙂 With that being said, I’ll just get started. Happy reading!

Leave a comment